Saturday, July 2, 2011


The recent announcement that Mike Mangini would be joining DREAM THEATER, replacing departed drummer Mike Portnoy, caused such fanfare that Mangini was a trending topic on Twitter, second only to Will & Kate's recent nuptuals!

Now, the band have finally revealed more about their imending new opus- A Dramatic Turn of Events. The much-anticipated platter, which marks Mangini's recorded debut, will be released via Roadrunner Records on September 12th and will be supported by a massive world tour.

"I'm incredibly psyched with the way this album came out and can't wait to share it with everybody," guitarist John Petrucci, who also serves as the album's producer, said. "We are currently in the mix stage with the great Andy Wallace and it's all sounding amazing!"

"We have poured our hearts and minds into the creation of this album," keyboardist Jordan Rudess Continues. "All the life changing events that surrounded us before, as well as during the whole process, fueled our desire to dig deep within ourselves and create the best music we possibly could."

Vocalist James LaBrie adds, "In the grand scheme of Dream Theater's career, the last several months have been such an incredibly positive, fulfilling and rewarding experience. The new songs and sound has never been so spirited or rejuvenating. I cannot wait for every one of our fans to sink their audio senses into this batch of tunes."

The track listing for A Dramatic Turn of Events is as follows:

1. On the Backs of Angels
2. Build Me Up, Break Me Down
3. Lost Not Forgotten
4. This is the Life
5. The Shaman's Trance
6. Outcry
7. Far From Heaven
8. Breaking All Illusions
9. Beneath The Surface


  1. Love the new tune, On the Backs of Angels. Mangini sounds great. Can't wait for September!

  2. Alex-

    I am looking forward to the new disc but will miss Portnoy. I am curious to see what the couple of projects he announced are going to sound like.

    I'm not sure if you like the Transatlantic discs or not-I actually prefer them to DT, but DT has enough of a progressive tilt to keep me listening even though they are a little hard-edged for my taste. So I may end up making out on the split if Portnoy's new ventures are good!

    I have to ask-is this album something you would buy off of iTunes or would you get the physical CD?